Home / The First Session of Union Parliament

The First Session of Union Parliament​

On the 5th of February 2021, 298 parliamentarians held the first emergency parliamentary session of the third term of Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Session via a video-conference and the session formed the “Committee Representing Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (CRPH)”.

The legitimately and lawfully elected parliament met virtually and assigned 15 MPs to carry forward the work of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw.

A number of observers attended including diplomats to Myanmar from the embassies of Denmark, Sweden, the United States of America and Czech Republic.

The meeting was quorate therefore legal with 63 percent of parliamentarians from the House of Representative and House of Nationalities present. 

Though some MPs were not able to attend the session, they sent their singed letter to support for the establishment of the CRPH and the assignment of the representatives.

The combined number of Parliamentarians who authorised the CRPH formation and powers was 398 MPs. This was the combined number of virtual attendees and those who authorised by their signed letters. 

This virtual parliamentary session authorized the CRPH to carry forward the mandate from the people to perform the functions of Parliament, namely legislative, oversight, representation and additionally to reach out and strengthen relationships with international parliamentary bodies.
Scroll to Top