Home / Statement of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw

Statement of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw

February 1, 2024

1.  On 1 February 2021, the terrorist military junta illegally seized the state of power and prevented the convening of parliaments, after violently detaining the members of the Union Government including President U Win Myint and State Counselor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, and cabinet members of State and Regional Governments.

2.  After the terrorist military junta has illegally seized the state of power, 145 parliamentarians were unjustly arrested. 19 parliamentarins from Union Parliament and 48 parliamentarians from State and Regional parliaments are still in detention to the present day. 7 Representatives of the Union Parliament and 11 Representatives from State and Regional Parliaments have lost their lives while evading capture. A parliamentarian from a State Parliament was detained and tortured to death, and two regional parliamentarians perished in prison due to lack of adequate medical treatment. In addition, the houses and property of 198 parliamentarians were also illegally sealed and confiscated, and 3 houses of parliamentarians were destroyed and were set on fire.

3.  Members of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw are working together with diverse forces by serving the main function of Hluttaw such as legislation, oversight and check and balance, and representation as well as taking responsibilities in various sectors such as politics, military and diplomacy in this people’s revolution for the eradication of military dictatorship and for the establishment of federal democratic union.

4.  On 5 February 2021, the Committee Representing Pyidaungsu Hluttaw was formed to carry out the functions of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw in the difficult cicumstances to convene the Hluttaw.

5.  On 31 March 2021, looking towards the emergence of a federal democracy constitution based on ethical principles of justice, equality and freedom as the will of the ethnicities and population, the Committee Representing Pyidaungsu Hluttaw has abolished the 2008 Constitution which was redacted with the aim to prolong military dictatorship.

6.  The result of the 2020 election is the people’s mandate and legitimacy which come from the political will of the people, however, it is not a constitutional mandate. Therefore, the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw has convened for the sixth session. Elected representatives are responsible for fulfilling the duties and mandates given by the people, as well as to continute to serve until a parliament is formed through a free and fair democratic election.

7.  We solemnly reaffirmed that we are cooperating with political, revoluntionary and ethnic forces and, we will also cooperate and consult with other forces which share the common goals with us for the establishment of system change politic, however, not for an individual or a group to uphold power but for the soonest victory of this revolution which aims to end the military dictatorship and to build federal democratic union by performing the duties, exercising the mandate and holding legitimacy given by the people.

This statement was approved and published in the first day meeting of the sixth session of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw which was held on 1 February ,2024.


  1. U Kyaw Htwe, MP (Signal no. +95 9 967 228552)
  2. U Sithu Maung, MP (Signal no. +66 65 494 8662)
Scroll to Top