Home / Military Junta’s Human Rights Violations against Elected Parliamentarians of Myanmar

Military Junta’s Human Rights Violations against Elected Parliamentarians of Myanmar

  • 41 national MPs and 87 regional MPs have been arrested.
  • 27 national MPs and 58 regional MPs remain detained.
  • 1 regional MP was killed by the military junta’s forces.
  • 2 regional MPs died due to a lack of adequate medical care in prison.
  • 7 national MPs and 10 regional MPs lost their lives while in hiding.
  • 4 national MPs had their citizenship revoked.
  • Many MPs have been forced to flee to jungles and borders.

Elected parliamentarians in Myanmar have faced severe human rights violations at the hands of the military junta, including threats, arbitrary arrest, torture and ill-treatment.

They have been denied fair trial proceedings and subjected to long-term imprisonment. Detained parliamentarians are held incommunicado, facing ill-treatment, torture, gender-based violence, and inhumane detention conditions with limited or no access to medical care or legal counsel.

Tragically, some detained MPs have lost their lives due to a lack of adequate medical care. Regional Bago Parliament MPs Mr. Nyunt Shwe and Mr. Mg Di died of COVID-19 and cancer respectively in    prison. Others have been tortured to death, including Mr. Kyaw Myo Min from the Mon State Parliament. Additionally, some MPs and political activists have been executed by the military junta. Former lawmaker Mr. Phyo Zeya Thaw and political activists Mr. Kyaw Min Yu, also known as “Ko Jimmy,” Mr. Hla Myo Aung and Mr. Aung Thura Zaw were executed by the illegal military junta in July 2022.

Many elected lawmakers have been forced into hiding, with 17 losing their lives due to the inability to access medical care. Hundreds of parliamentarians and their families have been displaced within the country or have fled to the borders, facing numerous difficulties and insecurity. MPs in other countries lack legal documents and face being tracked, arrested and deported back to Myanmar.

Four CRPH members U Yee Mon (aka Tin Thit), U Lwin Ko Latt, Daw Zin Mar Aung and Daw Phyu Phyu Thin have had their citizenship for allegedly “harming the interests of Myanmar” in violation of article 16 of the Myanmar Citizenship Law. Other MPs have seen their family members held as hostages and their homes and property seized.

The Committee Representing Pyidaungsu Hluttaw 

Scroll to Top