Home / Leading MEPs on latest developments in Myanmar

Leading MEPs on latest developments in Myanmar

9 March 2021

Leading MEPs met with representatives of the Parliament of Myanmar

Vice President Heidi Hautala (Greens, FI)
MEP Hannah Neumann (Greens, DE)
MEP Svenja Hahn (Renew, DE)
MEP Anna Fotyga (ECR, PL)

Today, they issued the following statement:

Having followed the developments in Myanmar since the coup of 1 February with great concern, we were relieved to hear that through challenges of varying degrees and danger, the elected representatives in Myanmar are dedicated to continuing their work. They deserve our admiration for their courage and commitment to the fundamental principles of democracy.

Time for further targeted sanctions is now. The military and their business entities must not be able to benefit from any inflows or outflows of trade with European enterprises, be it directly or indirectly. The lives of ordinary people must, however, be shielded from these restrictive actions as much as possible.

Sanctions alone will not resolve the political crisis. The democratic actors in Myanmar need our support. Those threatened need protection. Communication channels and platforms between the CRPH (national legislative body representing elected members of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw, the Assembly of the Union) and the people of Myanmar must be kept open; the CRPH is doing all it can to reach out to the public in large. Obviously, there is no justification for digital blackouts.

The country\’s civil disobedience movement demands freedom and justice for all. Their sacrifice and courage is deeply humbling. A movement of this kind as well as the civil society are key ingredients in a resilient, fair and open society. They have our full support.

We are, furthermore, committed to supporting the CRPH\’s ongoing work to restore democracy and the respect for the rule of law in Myanmar by non-violent means and to lending them support in every way it is possible for us.

On 5 March, the leading MEPs met with Ms Daw Zinmar Aung and other members of the Committee Representing Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (CRPH), reiterating the European Parliament\’s request for targeted sanctions against the military and support to the democratic actors in Myanmar.

Source: https://www.europarl.europa.eu/delegations/en/leading-meps-on-latest-developments-in-m/product-details/20210309DPU29022

Scroll to Top