Home / Functions

What we have done so far

CRPH acknowledges and encourages the Civil Disobedience Movement (CDM) of government officials and the peaceful protest of the people who resist the illegal coup.

However, military junta created inhumane acts to the people such as lethal crackdown to peaceful protestors, arbitrary arrest and detention, murder, destruction and unlawful confiscation of the citizen’s property.

The CRPH declared the military junta’s State Administration Council (SAC) a terrorist group on 1 March 2021.

Two months after its formation, on the 5th March 2021, the CRPH set out the following political visions order to eliminate the military dictatorship once and for all, and to build a “Federal Democracy Republic” for the people, of the people and by the people: The four operative parts of the vision are as follows:

  •  To end military dictatorship.
  • To ensure the unconditional release of all unlawful detainees including President U Win Myint and State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi.
  • To achieve full-fledged democracy.
  • To rescind the 2008 Constitution and draft a new Constitution based on the federal system.

CRPH appointed Mann Win Khaing Thann as Acting Vice-President in order to represent the State and to perform the functions of the government of Myanmar, and other Acting Union Ministers for some ministries were also appointed to continue ministry businesses because the military overthrew the civilian government led by President U Win Myint and State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi.

To further the political pact to forge a Federal Democratic State with all stakeholders including EAOs, the CRPH passed a law on the 17th March 2021, that removed of all Ethnic Armed Organizations (EAOs) from the list of terrorist groups or unlawful associations. The CRPH on the 31st March 2021, revoked the 2008 Constitution, a constitution that was drafted and institutionalized by the military junta.

The National Unity Government (NUG) Mandate and Formation

On the 16 April 2021, the CRPH announced the formation of the National Unity Government (NUG). The NUG is headed by the President Win Myint and State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi, even with both being in detention and has a wide range of ministries including Foreign Affairs, Federal Affairs, Women, Youths and Children’s Affairs, Human Rights. The NUG was formed after the approval of the Federal Democracy Charter together with its objectives and political road map which was drafted by the National Unity Consultative Council (NUCC).
The NUCC involved a range of diverse groups including the members of CRPH, other elected parliamentarians, political parties, Civil Disobedience Movement (CDM), general strike committees, women, youths, Ethnic Revolutionary Organizations (EROs) and civil society organizations (CSOs).
Scroll to Top